Alternatives/Flit vs Yaps
Flit vs Yaps
Flit types as you speak, needs no account, and is paid for once.
The short answer
Flit and Yaps both keep your voice on your own machine, so the choice is about focus and how you pay. Yaps is a toolkit: dictation, file transcription, captions, voice notes with a markdown vault, read-aloud and translation, across Mac, Windows, Linux, Android, and iOS, for $12 a month billed yearly with an account. Flit puts its effort into dictation, and does more of it: text appears while you speak, spoken code names are repaired against your open project, more than 60 commands resolve by fixed rule, and it dictates in more than 1,600 languages against around 25. It costs $19 once, needs no account, and the local claim is verifiable in a minute with wifi off. If you want the notes, the files and the other platforms, Yaps is a fair subscription. If you want the best local dictation on a Mac and to stop paying for it, Flit.
Flit vs Yaps, side by side
From Yaps’s own published information, checked September 2026. “Not stated” means they do not publish that detail. Prices change, so confirm before you buy.
Why people pick Flit
- One payment, and Flit is yours to keep. Yaps Pro is $12 a month billed yearly, the free tier does not include the Mac app, and the subscription only covers the time you pay for.
- No account. Yaps needs one to use the desktop apps. Flit never asks who you are.
- Text appears while you are still speaking. Yaps describes text landing at your cursor when you release the key, and does not state streaming.
- More than 1,600 languages, all local, against around 25, and you can dictate in one and write in another. The widest coverage comes from Meta’s Omnilingual model, so accuracy varies by language.
- It reads your open project and repairs misheard file and folder names against the real ones. Yaps has no codebase awareness.
- Times, spoken punctuation, snippets and dictionary words are produced by fixed rules that cannot drift. Yaps does not document its command set.
Where Yaps differs
- Mac, Windows, Linux, Android and iOS; the phone apps are free.
- Separates speakers in a transcript.
- Voice notes into a markdown vault on disk, with encrypted sync.
- Runs on Intel Macs and macOS 13.
Two local apps, one very different bill
Both process your speech on your own machine, and both say so on their privacy pages, so this comparison is not the usual cloud-versus-local argument. It is about what you pay for local processing. Yaps charges $12 a month billed yearly, or $15 monthly, and reserves the Mac app for paying customers after a 7-day trial. Stop paying and the Mac app stops. Flit is $19 once for up to 2 Macs, and it keeps working for as long as you use it. A model running on your own hardware costs its maker nothing per dictation, which is why we think it should be bought once, and it is the whole reason Flit is priced the way it is.
A toolkit against a tool
Yaps is broad by design: dictation is one tab among transcription, captions, notes, read-aloud, translation and a resource library. If you want one app for all of that, Flit is not competing for it. Flit spends the same effort on dictation. Streaming text, a codebase index, more than 60 commands resolved by rule rather than by a model, voice editing of selected text, and more than 1,600 languages are the result. If you dictate all day, the depth matters more than the breadth.
Where Yaps reaches and Flit does not
Five platforms, Intel Macs, macOS 13, and a free tier on your phone. Flit is macOS 14 on Apple silicon by choice, because the notch HUD, the accessibility layer and the Apple silicon models depend on it, and no phone app is planned. If your notes need to move between a phone and a laptop without a cloud in the middle, the Yaps vault with end-to-end encrypted sync does that, and Flit has no equivalent.
The verdict
Flit
Choose Flit if dictation on a Mac is the job, you want text as you speak, and you would rather pay once than every month.
7 days free · $19 once, up to 2 Macs
YYaps
Choose Yaps if you want voice notes, read-aloud and dictation in one subscription, or you dictate on Windows, Linux or a phone.
Questions
Is Yaps local or cloud?
Local. Its privacy policy states that dictation, cleanup, transcription, read-aloud, translation and notes are processed on your device, with the network used for account sign-in, billing, model downloads, optional encrypted note sync and diagnostics. Flit is local too, with no account and no sync, so the only connections it ever makes are for updates and licensing.
Which is cheaper?
Flit. It is $19 once for up to 2 Macs, and it is yours to keep. Yaps Pro is $12 a month billed yearly or $15 month to month, the Mac app is only available on Pro after a 7-day trial, and that only covers the time you pay for.
Does Yaps work on Intel Macs?
Yes, on macOS 13 or later, with separate Apple silicon and Intel builds. Flit requires macOS 14 and Apple silicon, so on an older Mac Yaps is an option and Flit is not.
Can Flit transcribe files or take voice notes like Yaps?
Files, yes: since 1.5 Flit transcribes audio and video on your Mac and exports text, Markdown, SRT or VTT. It has no notes vault and no read-aloud.